Information Sessions


Pain Self-Management Education Sessions

The Pan Am Pain Clinic is pleased to offer a 2-session pain self-management education program open to all patients after they attend their initial medical appointment. As an important part of our multidisciplinary approach to treatment, we strongly recommend that all patients attend. We also welcome the attendance of significant others (eg, spouse, family member, or close friend) who are in a supportive role. The sessions are offered every two to three months, over consecutive weeks. The sessions are 90 minutes in duration and are held in the Pan Am Clinic main floor conference room usually on Thursday afternoons, starting at 1:00 pm.

The sessions are facilitated by the Pain Clinic Psychologist and Physiotherapist. Trainees and Residents may also facilitate some aspects of these sessions. The program consists of information and practical strategies for coping with chronic pain including an introduction to the biopsychosocial model, relaxation techniques, stretching and physical activity, activity pacing, stress management, sleep enhancement, effective pain communication, and goal setting.

If you are interested in attending the next pain self-management education sessions, please call 204-925-7485 to inquire about when they are taking place, and to confirm your attendance, as seating may be limited. If you register but for some reason are unable to attend one or both sessions, you are welcome to register for future sessions.

Preview or download a copy of the psychology and physiotherapy presentations, along with the handouts containing relevant information and practical exercises.

Preoperative Patient Information Sessions

Topics Covered:

Medications
Pre-anaesthesia Assessment Clinic
Completing the Necessary Forms
Planning for Surgery
The Day of Surgery
Arriving at the Pan Am Clinic Surgical Centre Anaesthetic Information
Postoperative Care
Your Role in Recovery at Home
Rehabilitation
Demos: Sling Use, Walking with Crutches, Use of Braces

Presenters:

Kerri Pearson, Surgical Office Assistant Kim Sénéchal, Physiotherapist

Dates:

Mon, April 29 Thurs, May 9 Mon, May 27 Thurs, Jun 13 Thurs, Jul 11 Mon, Aug 19 Thurs, Sep 12 Mon, Sep 30 Thurs, Oct 10 Mon, Oct 28 Thurs, Nov 14 Mon, Nov 25 Thurs, Dec 12

This is an excellent opportunity to have your questions answered. Please join us!

Pan Am Clinic Conference Room

Time: 1-2pm

No charge and no pre-registration required

Download PDF

Pan Am Clinic Foundation

Supporting Education & Research